CfP: Annual Conference 2022 of the Working Group Southeast Asia and Working Group East Asia of the DGfG


June 24–26, 2022, Osnabrück, Germany

The Working Groups Southeast Asia and East Asia of the German Geographical Society (DGfG) will again hold a joint annual conference from June 24–26, 2022, to which we would like to extend a warm invitation! We are planning a face-to-face conference at the University of Osnabrück; otherwise, it will be hosted in a hybrid or virtual format.

A three-part event is planned, namely for the afternoon of June 24, 2022, focusing on „Sustainable Urban Development“. On the morning of June 25, 2022, the meeting will focus on „Economic Developments“. On the afternoon of June 25 and the morning of June 26, 2022, the conference will be open to the explicit, interdisciplinary
forum character of the working groups, in continuation of a good tradition – with presentations on ongoing or completed research. A book vernissage and a travelogue are envisaged for the evenings of June 24 and 25, 2022. Further, the traditional urban excursion will be included.

Colleagues are cordially invited to present on the main topics or on the forum section. We strongly encourage young scientists to present results of completed or ongoing theses or dissertations. Reports on projects that are only in the planning phase or at the beginning can be submitted as posters.

The conference will take place at the Institute of Geography of the University of Osnabrück, organised by Dr. Thomas Neise. Details on organization, venue, costs, etc. will be posted shortly on the websites of the working groups and and announced by circular email. The program will be sent out via the working group distribution lists and disseminated in relevant expert forums by early April 2022. In case of a higher number of international participants, the conference will be held in English.

Proposals for presentations with a concrete title and abstract are requested to the spokespersons of the working groups by January 31, 2022:

Southeast Asia Working Group: Prof. Dr. Frauke Kraas ( or Prof. Dr. Javier Revilla Diez (, both: Institute of Geography, University of Cologne, Albertus-Magnus-Platz, 50923 Cologne.

East Asia Working Group: Prof. Dr. Tabea Bork-Hüffer (, Institute of Geography, University of Innsbruck, A-6020 Innsbruck, or Prof. Dr. Thomas Feldhoff (, Institute of Geography, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, D-44801 Bochum.